NJPW Best Of Super Jr 31 Night 1 Results (5/11/2024), Updated Standings

The 31st New Japan Pro-Wrestling Best of Super Jr. Tournament kicked off on May 11th at the YohaS Arena in Chiba.

Two of the favorites going into the tournament, Hiromu Takahashi and El Desperado both lost their opening bouts by submission. KUSHIDA forced Takahashi to tap out to the Hoverboard lock while Titan submitted Desperado via the Llave Immortal. Both losses were considering shocking by the majority of NJPW fans.

Here are the full results for NJPW BOSJ 31 Opening Night courtesy of

  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block B: Francesco Akira (2 Pts) defeated Dragon Dia (0 pts) (5:35) with the Fireball.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block A: HAYATA (2 pts) defeated BUSHI (0 Pts) (7:05) with the 403 Impact.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block B: Ninja Mack (2 pts) defeated Robbie Eagles (0 Pts) (6:51) with a cradle cutback.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block A: Kosei Fujita (2 pts) defeated Yoshinobu Kanemaru (0 Pts) (8:23) with the Abandon Hope.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block B: SHO (2 pts) defeate Drilla Moloney (0 Pts) (8:13) via pinfall.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block A: Blake Christian (2 pts) defeated Clark Connors (0 Pts) (10:52) with a step-up curb stomp.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block B: Taiji Ishimori (2 pts) defeated DOUKI (0 Pts) (10:52) with the Bloody Cross.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block A: Kevin Knight (2 pts) defeated TJP (0 Pts) (15:02) with a spike DDT.
  • Best of the Super Jr. – Block B: KUSHIDA (2 pts) defeated Hiromu Takahashi (0 Pts) (12:24) with the hoverboard lock.
  • Main Event: Best of the Super Jr. – Block A: Titan (2 pts) defeated El Desperado (0 Pts) (14:42) with the Llave Immortal.

Updated Standings:

Block A:

  • Titan (2 pts)
  • Kevin Knight (2 pts)
  • Blake Christian( 2 pts)
  • Kosei Fujita (2 pts)
  • HAYATA (2 pts)
  • El Desperado (0 Pts)
  • TJP (0 Pts)
  • Clark Connors (0 Pts)
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru (0 Pts)
  • BUSHI (0 Pts)

Block B:

  • KUSHIDA (2 pts)
  • Taiji Ishimori (2 pts)
  • SHO (2 pts)
  • Ninja Mack (2 pts)
  • Francesco Akira (2 pts)
  • Hiromu Takahashi (0 Pts)
  • DOUKI (0 Pts)
  • Drilla Moloney (0 Pts)
  • Robbie Eagles (0 Pts)
  • Dragon Dia (0 Pts)

NJPW BOSJ 31 can be viewed live on NJPW World subscription streaming service.

You can follow Lewis Carlan on Twitter @ShootingUpNorth 

If you enjoy Bodyslam’s content, you can help donate to the site here. You can also visit our PWTees store and buy Bodyslam official merchandise here.

You can listen to all of Bodyslam’s podcasts by following us on Spotify and subscribing to our YouTube Channel,  or any of your favorite podcast platforms.